A driver who has racked up more than a half-dozen DUI arrests in his life may soon be able to get a DUI ticket in Tennessee.
State Attorney General Mike Hunter announced Tuesday that he’s bringing to the legislature the bill that would make Tennessee the second state in the nation to allow DUI tickets to be issued on a first-come, first-served basis.
The bill, introduced by Hunter in April, was referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee by a member of the legislature’s transportation committee.
The bill passed both chambers in May and will now go to the full House.
The law is expected to make a difference in DUI tickets given the state’s high number of DUIs and the number of drivers behind the wheel of other vehicles.
A driver convicted of DUI is subject to a three-month jail sentence and a $1,000 fine.
However, the driver does not have to appear in court.
Drivers convicted of other traffic offenses are subject to up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1.5,000.
Hunter’s bill also includes other changes, including the ability to issue tickets for alcohol violations.
Hunter said the legislation would help drivers who are being unfairly penalized because they are driving under the influence of alcohol.
The legislation would also allow for an alcohol test to be administered at a DUI checkpoint.
The measure also would expand DUI checkpoints to include public areas of parks and recreation centers.
The governor’s office has also said it will look into whether to allow testing for certain classes of drugs, including marijuana.
A Tennessee law already allows motorists to be arrested for DUI even if they are not impaired.
Under Hunter’s legislation, if a driver is arrested for a DUI in Tennessee, they will be given an opportunity to pay their fine and go to court.
It would not be illegal to get an alcohol-based breath test.
The Tennessee State Police said that in the past two years, there have been 7,844 DUI arrests nationwide.
In Tennessee, there were 1,811 DUI arrests last year.